Telling the World

Pete and I had been together for about 4 months when we decided it would be a good idea to tell our parents. We hadn’t said anything as we wanted to make sure it was going to work out before we ‘went public’ as it were. The last thing we wanted was to affect the friendship between our parents if it didn’t last.

I remember thinking about how I was going to tell my parents. I told my mum first as I thought that if she was ok with it, she would help me tell my dad. My mum and I were sat at her house one afternoon and I had been practicing how I was going to tell her but I couldn’t seem to get the words out……suddenly I just blurted it out!! Absolutely no finesse….just said it as it was. I could have kicked myself. My mum went completely silent and I held my breath thinking she was going to hit the roof. What did she say? “We always knew there was something between you two” and she went back to watching tv. I think I nearly passed out from lack of oxygen and relief ha ha.

Telling my dad was the worst. I don’t know why but I had it in my head that he was going to be furious about it because he wouldn’t want it to ruin his friendship with Pete’s family. I got myself in such a state when I was sat with him and my mum that I ended up just bursting into tears and shouting it at him. He kind of just sat there trying to figure out what I’d said, why I had suddenly shouted at him and why I was blubbing like a complete baby. I wish I could have watched the scene from the outside. It would have been hilarious. When dad had recovered from his initial shock of being yelled at he looked at me and asked me why I was crying about it. I couldn’t answer and he burst out laughing. He wasn’t phased at all. I couldn’t believe it.

Telling Pete’s family was completely different. With Pete being away it was up to me but I couldn’t do it face to face as his mum was in France. She was chatting to my dad on MSN one day when I had a lightbulb moment. I siddled up to my dad and simply said “daddy” in that way a daughter does when she wants something. He eyeballed me and asked what I was after. I passed the book and asked him to tell Pete’s mum whilst he was talking to her. Lucky for me he didn’t have an issue with it and when he told her, she was very happy for us. I can’t tell you how much better I felt after that.

From that point onwards, it was pretty much all systems go for us. Pete spent most of his spare time with me at my flat. He was selling the house that he still owned with his ex-partner and so he was back and forth to their old house quite a bit sorting out paperwork etc. I think he ended up moving in with me without us really discussing it. It just kind of happened.

It was at this point that Pete and Ivory developed a love/hate relationship. They loved to hate each other. Pete stopped Ivory from sleeping in the bed with us and Ivory took to sitting right next to his ear purring noisily or washing herself so that it would irritate him. As she is deaf, Ivory makes noises a lot louder than a normal cat and they can be very distracting and in some instances, downright disgusting. It was hilarious to watch them bond as daddy and daughter over their mutual dislike of each other. Pete likes to pretend that they still don’t like each other but I have arrived home unexpectedly before now and found them snuggled together on the sofa.

.img_1124

Pete passed out of his trade training and was posted to RAF Cranwell in April 2008. He lived in the block when on shift and came home when he wasn’t working.

I think we had been together just over 7 months when we got engaged. It doesn’t sound like long but we were both absolutely certain about it so there was no point in waiting. Pete bought me a beautiful white gold and diamond engagement ring. We didn’t hesitate to tell anyone our news this time and they were all excited.

Leave a Reply

